SewTogether Bag – Cutting the Pieces

SewTogetherBag.Pieces2Cutting and interfacing your pattern pieces is the last thing to do in preparation for our meeting next week (August 15th).  See this post for meeting and pattern details.   Interfacing fabrics There are two methods of interfacing your fabric pieces.  Often I will calculate the size of fabric needed to cut all pieces.  I will then interface first and cut the fused fabric.  I find it very convenient and fast.  The downside is the interface extends to the edge of cut pieces and the bulk may build up in the seam allowance. In this bag, I know I don’t want to fight with bulk in the seam allowance and choose option two.  Option two is cutting the interfacing smaller than the pattern pieces, but just large enough to get caught in the seam.  I cut all of my interfacing almost 1/2″ smaller so that when centered the edges are on the 1/4″ seam line.  When ironing the interfacing, I don’t meticulously measure the placement, but just eyeball and center the interfacing. Side Piece Pattern There have been questions regarding the side piece pattern.  Be sure you print that page at 100% or ‘no scaling’ depending how your printer is set up.  The bottom edge (on the fold line) should measure 4″.  Double check your measurement to be sure that is cut to size. SewTogetherBag.PiecesZippersBinding andZippers Iron your binding and have it ready to apply to bag.  I don’t cut my binding to size at this point just so that I have some wriggle room.  But I’m sure you will be good if you choose to cut as indicated on pattern. Be sure you have the appropriate zippers for this project. Notions You will need the typical sewing notions for this bag:  Thread scissors, pins, binder clips, thread, and needles (90/14 or denim needle would be good).  Be sure to bring your zipper foot!  If you secure your binding by hand, you will need hand needle. If you have any questions, let me know.  See you Saturday! Ramona

Leave a Reply

